Holy Spirit College held its annual Speech Night and Presentation of Awards on Thursday 5 November 2014 at the Mackay Entertainment and Convention Centre.

Principal John Lyons said, “At HSC, we understand that effective learning is the core purpose of learning.  We seek to promote good studentship which is paramount to shaping an effective life-long learner.  We are proud to recognise our student achievers and their dedication and hard work.”

Major award winners include: Year 12 Dux – Tegan Jansen and Nicholas Davis; Year 11 Dux – Grace Emmert; Year 10 Dux – Gemma Refalo; Year 9 Dux – Joseph Camilleri; Year 8 Dux – Grace Devitt; Year 7 Dux – Kate Miles; The Dawson Medal for Outstanding Community Service (Years 7 – 10) – Sandali De Soysa; Australian Defence Force Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Awards – Year 10 – Jackson Devitt; Year 12 – Cooper Cox; Catholic Education Office Award – Phoebe Peters (Year 10); Rotary Award – Madeliene King (Year 11); Caltex Best All Rounder Award – Natalie Honnery (Year 12); Vocational Education & Training Award (in memory of Mark Cowley) – Danielle Vella (Year 12) and Jordan Vassallo (Year 12); Excellence in Studentship Award (in memory of Mark Camilleri) – Mark North (Year 12); Mary Moore Memorial Award – Gemma Refalo (Year 10); Macrossan & Amiet Charitable Foundation Award – Grace Emmert (Year 11); Don Brown Memorial Bursary – Sohan de Livera (Year 12); Marist Sisters’ Award – Maggie McCusker (Year 12).